down

La Pourcaresse: individual, natural, secluded

In our carefully renovated farmhouse, between the Ardèche Gorge and the Cèze Valley in the department of the Gard, you will find peace and relaxation in a family setting. The special appeal of the landscape will cast its spell on you: quietness broken only by the chirping of the birds, cicadas and crickets, unspoilt nature, wonderful scents, mediterranean skies and clear starry nights. We welcome you to holidays without the stresses of civilisation.

Accommodation

Large Holiday apartment for 4 – 7 people

2 bedrooms, living-room, fully-equipped kitchen, 100 m² living space, bath/shower, sep. WC, large terrace, swimming pool

more

Guest room for 2 – 3 People

1 bed-/living room, 26 m² living space, bath/WC/shower, breakfast and/or kitchen, seating area and terrace, swimming pool

more

Guest book notes

havre de paix

Familie Sochas | Nantes, France | August 2018

… irdisches Paradies

Kurt und Eva | Zürich, Schweiz | Juni 2017

Zum ersten Mal hier …

Angela, Christoph | | Mai 2018

Guest book
down

The House, the Hosts and some History

A typical « gardois mas »

An idyllic combination

Our gem began as a typical « gardois mas », the traditional farmhouse of the western Rhone valley. The carefully-restored house combines old and new and comprises a small group of buildings nestled in nature with extensive gardens, pool and wonderful views over the tree-covered hills of the Cévennes.

Environmental conservation is very important to us : our electricity is provided entirely by solaire energy. We are not connected to the national grid. Our central heating boiler is fueled by wood pellets which come from sustainable forests in the Cevenne Mountains. The 17 acres of land surrounding the house are maintained organically, as are the olive grove and vegetable garden.

Real Hospitality

We, Florence Ponthieu and Florian Besset, want to create a timeless  ambience for you at la Pourcaresse, with a family atmosphere. We are also very happy to care for your physical well-being and will advise you in English, French or German before and during your stay on travel routes or excursions to places of interest.

To cut a long story short

Around 1880, a farming family of 10 lived at la Pourcaresse; amongst other things, they were occupied with rearing silkworms. «Magnanerie», from the local word «magnan» for silkworm, was the familiar name and also described our gem. Traces of those times are still seen here and there as the mulberry trees reveal their lush leaves and berries.

down

Location and directions

Location

Our house lies near the hamlet of Alleyrac in Issirac (department of the Gard), nestled between the Cèze Valley and the Ardèche Gorge, just 19 kilometres away. In view of its isolated situation, our house is best reached by car.

Arriving by car

The nearest motorway access is in Bollène on the « Autoroute du Soleil » (A7). From there, you reach our house in 30 to 40 minutes` drive via Pont-St-Esprit, Laval-St-Roman (D 901) and Issirac (D 301). We will send you a detailed map with your rental agreement.

Arriving by train and bus

The nearest TGV-Station is Avignon TGV. Cars can be hired there. If you prefer to be without a car for your holiday, we will gladly come and collect you, given sufficient advance notice. The nearest regional station is Bollène-la-Croisière.

down

La Pourcaresse: lieu de ressourcement par excellence

Entre les Gorges de l’Ardèche et la vallée de la Cèze, à deux pas de la vallée du Rhône, nous vous accueillons dans notre mas gardois typique, rénové dans les règles de l’art, pour vous offrir un silence absolu égayé par le chant des oiseaux, des cigales et des grillons, dans une nature intacte et luxuriante exhalant toutes les fragrances sauvages de la garrigue, sous un ciel méditerranéen superbement étoilé. Sans oublier toutes les richesses touristiques et culturelles des environs …

Hébergements

Grand appartement pour 4 à 7 personnes

100 m2, grand séjour, 2 chambres, grande cuisine, salle de bains, WC séparé, grande terrasse, piscine

plus

Chambre d’hôtes pour 2 à 3 personnes

Chambre-séjour 26 m2, salle de bains/douche/WC, avec petit-déjeuner et/ou cuisine, terrasse meublée, piscine

plus

Livre d’or

havre de paix

Familie Sochas | Nantes, France | August 2018

… irdisches Paradies

Kurt und Eva | Zürich, Schweiz | Juni 2017

Zum ersten Mal hier …

Angela, Christoph | | Mai 2018

Livre d’or
down

La maison, vos hôtes et un peu d’histoire

Un mas gardois typique

Un ensemble idyllique

La maison est un mas typiquement gardois, construit sur caves voûtées à flanc de coteau, autour d’un puits, seule source de vie pendant des décennies, et d’une cour très abritée. Lieu de ressourcement par excellence, nichée au coeur d’un microcosme exceptionnellement préservé, en pleine nature, elle bénéficie d’un calme et d’une ambiance très rares de nos jours, et dont le charme particulier ne saurait être décrit: il faut l’avoir goûté pour comprendre.

Nous accordons une grande importance à la préservation de l’environnement: l’intégralité de notre courant électrique est solaire, nous ne sommes pas reliés à l’EDF. La chaudière de notre chauffage central fonctionne aux granulés de bois issus de forêts en exploitation durable des Cévennes. Les 7 hectares du domaine entourant la maison sont entretenus en culture biologique, y compris le jardin potager et les oliveraies.

Vos hôtes

Nous, Florence Ponthieu et Florian Besset, nous efforçons de vous proposer dans cet oasis de calme absolu qu’est la Pourcaresse une atmosphère détendue et conviviale, propice à un repos et à un ressourcement profonds. Nous vous conseillons volontiers, en français, en allemand ou en anglais, sur les nombreuses possibilités de concevoir au mieux votre séjour.

Une longue histoire en quelques mots …

Vers 1880, une tribu d’environ 10 personnes habitait la maison et vivait des terres environnantes. L’activité principale était l’élevage du vers à soie, promu au siècle dernier dans toute la région par la Fondation Olivier de Serres, sise à Alès. La maison est donc une ancienne magnanerie, (de magnan = vers à soie). Les derniers vestiges de la sériciculture sont les mûriers, dont on rencontre encore ici ou là la fraîche parure de feuillage, autrefois nourriture des magnans insatiables, et qui, aujourd’hui, n’intéresse plus personne.

down

Situation et accès

Situation

Notre maison se situe non loin du hameau d’Alleyrac, sur la commune d’Issirac (Gard), entre la vallée de la Cèze et les Gorges de l’Ardèche. Une voiture est quasiment indispensable.

Accès en voiture

L’accès le plus proche à l’autoroute (A7, autoroute du soleil) est Bollène. De la sortie Bollène, vous atteignez la maison en 30 à 40 minutes par Pont-Saint-Esprit (D 901), Laval-Saint-Roman (D 901) et Issirac (D 301). Nous vous envoyons un plan d’accès détaillé avec le contrat.

Àccès en train/bus

La gare TGV la plus proche est Avignon TGV. Il est possible de louer une voiture sur place. Si vous préférez venir sans voiture, nous pouvons venir vous chercher sur demande formulée suffisamment à l’avance. La gare régionale la plus proche est Bollène-la-Croisière.